IIT Kanpur has released the eligibility criteria for the the Joint Entrance Exam (Advanced) 2018. The JEE (Advanced) will be conducted on May 20, 2018. It is conducted as computer based test mode. You must fulfill each and every one of the following five criteria to appear in JEE Advanced.

1: Performance in JEE Main

You should be among the top 2,24,000 (including all categories) by scoring positive marks in Paper‐1 of JEE Main. The percentages of various categories are:

  • 27% for OBC‐NCL
  • 15% for SC
  • 7.5% for ST
  • 50.5% is OPEN for all

Within each of these four categories, 5% horizontal reservation is available for PwD (including Dyslexic) candidates.

2: Age Limit

You should have been born on or after October 1, 1993 (For 2018 exam). Five years relaxation is given to SC, ST and PwD candidates, i.e., these candidates should have been born on or after October 1, 1988.

3: Number of Attempts

You can attempt JEE Advanced a maximum of two times in consecutive years. It should be your either first attempt or second consecutive attempt.

4: Appearance in Class XII (or equivalent) Exam

You should have appeared for the Class XII (or equivalent) examination for the first time in either 2017 or 2018. However, candidates whose Class XII (or equivalent) examination Board results for the academic year 2015‐16 were declared after June 2016 are eligible to appear in JEE Advanced 2018.

5: Earlier Admission at IITs

You should not have been admitted in an IIT irrespective of whether or not you continued in the program OR accepted the IIT seat by reporting at a reporting centre in the past. The candidates whose admission at IITs was cancelled are also not eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced).